During the 18th century, the Baron Etigny worked for the development of Luchon and contributed to its development. In 1762 to connect the village with "baigneries" the Allées d’Etigny were opened through fields. Then roads were drawn to join Montréjeau. In 1763, the nephew of Cardinal Richelieu came to Luchon, the royal nobility was subjugated, and the fame of the city began. The urban development of the city began. Large houses with very different styles of architecture were built. Many buildings and resort hotels were constructed for a demanding and wealthy clientele. In 1880, the Casino was built in with a festival architecture alternating modern and Moorish styles : theater Napoleon III , concert halls , restaurant , games room , lounges.
After long works, on July the 20th of 1857 the thermal Chambert building was inaugurated at the site of the ancient Roman baths. The fame of Luchon is growing more and more.
In 1929, the sulfide radio Vaporarium, unique in Europe was born. It is a natural hammam with 1200 meters of tunnels dug into the rock.
Over the years, the Baths have expanded and are now composed of 3 buildings. Luchon is specialized in respiratory and rheumatism cares, but was able to expand its offerings and now offers courses of smoking cessation, “cures freedom”, care against low back pain and fibromyalgia plus an important fitness center.
At 1800 meters high, Superbagnères overhangs Luchon. It is the first ski resort created in the Pyrenees, the second in France after Chamonix. At first, it was connected to Luchon by a small train rack, whose activity ceased in 1966 after construction of the road. Since 1993, it is possible to get up to Superbagnères by taking the gondola lift.